Free UK shipping on orders over £50 | Click & collect from our shop
Teenage Fanclub - Man Made

Teenage Fanclub - Man Made


Regular price £0.00 £22.50 On Pre-order

LPs: Order under £50 = £3.40 shipping.
Order over £50 = Free shipping.
CDs: Order of any value = £1.50 shipping.

Out 14th December 2018

1. It’s All In My Head

2. Time Stops

3. Nowhere

4. Save

5. Slow Fade

6. Only With You

7. Cells

8. Feel

9. Fallen Leaves

10. Flowing

11. Born Under A Good Sign

12. Don’t Hide

Bonus 7”

1. Falling Leaf

2. Please Stay

Teenage Fanclub have announced details of the vinyl reissues of two more of their classic albums – Man Made and Shadows.

The band have also selected rarities, favourites and tracks previously unavailable on vinyl to include on a 7” with each album. These 7” singles will each feature two tracks and will only be available with the initial pressing of each album.

Following the decks-clearing exercise of 2003's A Short Cut to Teenage Fanclub compilation, the Glaswegian jangle popsters formed their own PeMa label and decided they'd go to Chicago to make their next album. They recruited producer John McEntire (of Tortoise), whose influence seems to have resulted in an intimate, semi-minimal approach, where every sound is carefully matched and graded and anything superfluous has been ruthlessly expunged.

The punkadelic blast of early Fanclub has given way to a lyrical folk-pop feel, although they do permit themselves a voyage into scuzzy space-rock in Born Under a Good Sign, and the band's always excellent harmonies sound preternaturally warm and smooth. If the sparse approach to sound and instrumentation is thoroughly 21st century (as in the glassy shimmer of Cells or the REM-ish Nowhere), the vocals are squarely in the Byrds/Beach Boys tradition, at times almost outshining their role models. It's a difficult album to dislike. 4/5 The Guardian