Free UK shipping on orders over £50 | Click & collect from our shop
Alan Parker / John Cameron - Afro Rock

Alan Parker / John Cameron - Afro Rock


Regular price £21.00 On Pre-order

LPs: Order under £50 = £3.40 shipping.
Order over £50 = Free shipping.
CDs: Order of any value = £1.50 shipping.

Out 17th May 2019

Be With have raided the KPM archives to re-issue another of our favourites from the KPM 1000 series.

They say: Hard Afro Pop featuring large percussive rhythm section and front line.

We say: One of the best-loved of all the KPM LPs.

Afro Rock was recorded at Morgan Studios by John Cameron and Alan Parker in London in 1973 as a collection of stripped-down African rhythms, virtuoso jazz instrumentation, fuzzed up wah wah guitars and spaced out library breaks. The percussion is effortlessly funky, and those flutes so melodic, it’s as if the LP
was crafted with the beat lovers of the future firmly in mind.

As Cameron himself described it in Unusual Sounds, this is “heavy duty drum-and-bass salsa music”.

As with all of our KPM re-issues, the audio for The Road Forward comes from the original analogue tapes and has been remastered for vinyl by Be With regular Simon Francis. We’ve taken the same care with the sleeves, handing the reproduction duties over to Richard Robinson, the current custodian of KPM’s brand identity.

And don’t worry! Those KPM stickers aren’t stuck directly on the sleeves!

Tracklist: A1 : Alan Parker - Heavy Water A2 : Alan Parker - Ice Breaker A3 : Alan Parker - Solid Satin A4 : Alan Parker - Punch Bowl A5 : Alan Parker - Frozen Steam A6 : Alan Parker - Black Light A7 : John Cameron - Range Rover B1 : John Cameron - Swamp Fever B2 : John Cameron - Safari So Good B3 :
John Cameron – Survival B4 : John Cameron - Afro Waltz B5 : John Cameron - Sahara Sunrise B6 : John Cameron - Rockin Rhino B7 : John Cameron - Heat Haze B8 : John Cameron - Afro Metropolis